Start of main content

Cross-platform Flutter native autotests

Day 2

RU

Maria will start her story by getting to know Flutter and autotests on it. There will be short information about the types of tests on Flutter, who writes them in Surf and how, and most importantly - why it is so. We will also touch on the strategy: why these types of autotests are needed and what tools will be a good addition.

When Surf started to get acquainted with autotests on Flutter, there was no integration_test package yet, which allows working with widget and E2E tests almost simultaneously. Therefore, the company began to look for opportunities to make life easier for themselves when writing these types of tests.

The team conventionally merged the widget and E2E, adding an abstraction layer to use one call to two types of tests. They also took reusable components that helped in the implementation of both E2E and widget tests. And also connected gherkin using the flutter_gherkin framework.

After Flutter expanded its testing capabilities, provided access to easy work with E2E and widgets using the integration_test package, Surf switched to it. But they continue to use reusable components and gherkin.

At the end of the talk, Maria will tell you what the team learned and how they built the test structure. We will also touch on the features that Surf managed to notice during the work with autotesting on Flutter.

  • #dart
  • #integration-tests
  • #widget-tests
  • #flutter
  • #calabash

Speakers

Invited experts

Начало основного контента

Нативные автотесты кроссплатформенного Flutter

День 2

RU

Мария начнет рассказ со знакомства с Flutter и с автотестами на нем. Будет краткая информация о видах тестов на Flutter, кто и как пишет их в Surf, а главное — почему именно так. Также коснемся вопроса стратегии: зачем и для чего нужны те или иные виды автотестов, и какие инструменты будут неплохим дополнением.

Когда в Surf начали знакомиться с автотестами на Flutter, еще не существовало пакета integration_test, который позволяет почти одновременно работать с виджет- и E2E-тестами. Поэтому в компании стали искать возможности облегчить себе жизнь при написании таких видов тестов.

Команда условно объединила виджет и E2E, добавив уровень абстракции для использования одного обращения к двум типам тестов. Еще взяли переиспользуемые компоненты, которые помогали в реализации как E2E, так и виджет-тестов. А также подключили геркин с помощью фреймворка flutter_gherkin.

После того, как во Flutter расширили возможности работы с тестами, предоставили доступ к простой работе с E2E и виджетами с помощью пакета integration_test, Surf переключились на него. Но все так же продолжают использовать переиспользуемые компоненты и геркин.

В конце доклада Мария обязательно расскажет, чему команда научилась и как построила структуру тестов. Также мы коснемся особенностей, которые успели заметить за время работы с автотестированием на Flutter.

  • #dart
  • #integration-tests
  • #widget-tests
  • #flutter
  • #calabash

Спикеры

Приглашенные эксперты